Connected Consumer

Technology has given today’s Connected Consumers unprecedented access to goods and services across the world. But what does the rise of e-commerce mean for companies, consumers and investors?

What is the Connected Consumer?

Significant advancements in technology over the years have played out in favour of today’s consumer. Widespread availability of internet means that today’s consumer is in a better position to make more informed purchase decisions anywhere, anytime, on any platform. Businesses must also evolve to keep pace with consumer demand, and fintech is increasingly important for companies to improve how they interact with their customers. Keeping pace with technological advancements will enable companies to engage their customers more deeply in a digital economy. 

What is the Digital Economy?

The rise of smartphones has given consumers globally unprecedented access and choice when it comes to shopping. Digitally-savvy companies now offer a broader selection of goods, faster delivery, secure payments and 24/7 mobile access. E-commerce represents the part of this new digital economy that consumers are most familiar with today. Even though it feels like e-commerce has been around for a long time, just 11% of global retail sales are transacted online.1 We believe this should allow for many years of double-digit growth in the future.

E-commerce penetration is rising

Over the years, online retail has taken market share from offline retail, a trend we expect to continue in the long term.

 

Video: Digital Economy

of retail transactions are done digitally today; a number only likely to rise.1

 

 

of consumers surveyed in 2018 plan to make purchases on mobile – versus 40% in 2017 – with mobile usage a likely driver of digital growth overall.2

 

 

of total retail sales by 2020 are forecast to be accounted for by digital-native millennials, who are entering their peak spending years.2

 

What does this mean for investors?

Traditional businesses are reaching a critical juncture, where they must adapt to the digital age or be disrupted by more digitally savvy competitors. Retailers are rapidly adapting to the needs of these connected consumers to make shopping quicker, easier and more personalised. We believe this represents a significant structural opportunity for investors seeking long-term growth. Digital-native millennials are reaching their peak spending years, while older, wealthier generations are also increasingly connected and comfortable shopping online.

Investing in the Digital Economy

We see these trends as creating opportunities across the entire e-commerce value chain as traditional businesses embrace the Digital Economy. We refer to these opportunities as the four Ds:

  • Discovery – companies that help people find products through search engines or digital marketing platforms
  • Decision-making – e-commerce companies, web portals and mobile apps which provide consumers with convenient and reliable product choices
  • Delivery – companies creating fintech solutions to keep pace with consumers’ increasing expectations of simple payment processes or using automation in order fulfilment for same-day delivery and returns
  • Data & Enablers – digital companies which help traditional businesses migrate to the digital world

Why now for the Digital Economy?

The Digital Economy revolution is still in its early stages, and there is a growing number of new business segments emerging. For instance, the ‘Sharing Economy’ comprises high-profile companies, which are currently private, that will likely list in the coming years, expanding the investable universe and diversification opportunities.

1 AXA IM. BOFAM – Global eCommerce, October 2019.
2 Global Consumer Insights Survey 2020, PwC.

This page is for advertising and informational purposes only and does not constitute an offer to buy or sell any investments or products on the part of AXA Investment Managers or its affiliated companies and should not be considered a solicitation or investment, legal or tax advice. The strategies and/or products discussed herein may not be available in all jurisdictions and/or to certain types of investors. Opinions, estimates and forecasts herein are subjective and subject to change without notice. There is no guarantee that forecasts made will come to pass. No guarantee, warranty or representation is given as to the accuracy or completeness of this material. Reliance upon information in this material is at the sole discretion of the reader. This material does not contain sufficient information to support an investment decision. Further important information as well as information regarding the representative and the paying agent of the respective fund are available under important information.

Der vernetzte Verbraucher

Die Technologie hat den vernetzten Verbrauchern von heute einen beispiellosen Zugang zu Gütern und Dienstleistungen auf der ganzen Welt verschafft. Aber was bedeutet der Aufstieg des E-Commerce für Unternehmen, Verbraucher und Investoren?

Was ist der vernetzte Verbraucher?

Heute profitieren die Verbraucher von den grossen Technologiefortschritten der letzten Jahre. Durch die zunehmende Verfügbarkeit des Internets können sie besser informierte Kaufentscheidungen treffen, überall und auf jeder Plattform. Auch die Unternehmen müssen sich weiterentwickeln und mit der Nachfrage schritt halten. Fintech wird immer wichtiger, damit Unternehmen besser mit ihren Kunden interagieren können. Unternehmen, die sich an den Fortschritt anpassen, können ihre Kundenkontakte in einer zunehmend digitalen Wirtschaft intensivieren.  

Was ist die digitale Wirtschaft?

Durch die zunehmende Verbreitung von Smartphones haben so viele Verbraucher Zugang zum Internet- und Onlinehandel wie noch nie. Internetaffine Unternehmen bieten heute eine grössere Produktauswahl. Die Zustellung wird schneller, die Bezahlung wird sicherer, und man kann rund um die Uhr einkaufen. Der Onlinehandel ist der Teil dieser neuen digitalen Wirtschaft, mit dem Verbraucher zurzeit am meisten vertraut sind. Der Online-Einzelhandelsmarkt dürfte in den nächsten fünf Jahren um durchschnittlich 14 Prozent p.a. wachsen.1

 


Aller Einzelhandelskäufe werden heute digital getätigt. Dies Zahl wird steigen.2

 

Alle 2018 befragten Verbraucher planen, mobil einzukaufen (ggü. 40 Prozent im Jahr 2017). Insgesamt dürfte die Nutzung von Mobiltelefonen der wichtigste Wachstumsfaktor im digitalen Sektor sein.3

 

aller Einzelhandelsumsätze dürften bis 2020 von Millennials getätigt werden, die mit dem Internet aufgewachsen sind. Sie werden bald so viel Geld ausgeben wie noch nie und wie nie wieder in ihrem Leben.4

 

Was bedeutet das für Investoren?

Traditionelle Unternehmen stehen am Scheideweg. Entweder passen sie sich an das digitale Zeitalter an, oder sie werden von technologiefähigeren Unternehmen verdrängt. Einzelhändler reagieren rasch auf die Anforderungen des vernetzten Verbrauchers. Sie wollen den Einkauf schneller, einfacher und persönlicher machen. Wir halten das für eine erhebliche Chance für Anleger, die langfristiges Wachstum wünschen. Millennials, die mit dem Internet aufgewachsen sind, erreichen bald das Alter, in dem Menschen am meisten Geld ausgeben. Zugleich gehen schon heute auch wohlhabende ältere Menschen immer häufiger ins Internet und kaufen gerne online. 

In die digitale Wirtschaft investieren

Aus unserer Sicht entstehen durch diese Trends Chancen in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette des Onlinehandels, weil auch traditionelle Unternehmen digital werden. Diese Chancen entstehen in Bereichen, die wir die 4 D nennen:

·  Discovery (Finden): Unternehmen, die Menschen helfen, über Suchmaschinen oder digitale Vertriebsplattformen Produkte zu finden
·  Decision Making (Entscheiden): Onlinehändler, Webportale und mobile Apps, die dem Verbraucher bequem und verlässlich eine Auswahl an Produkten zeigen
·  Delivery (Lieferung): Unternehmen, die Fintech-Lösungen entwickeln, um mit den wachsenden Anforderungen der Verbraucher Schritt zu halten. Erwartet werden einfache Zahlungsprozesse oder Prozesse, die Lieferungen und Rückgaben am gleichen Tag ermöglichen. 
·  Daten- & Technologieermöglicher (Enabler): Digitale Unternehmen, die traditionellen Unternehmen beim Einstieg in die digitale Welt helfen

Warum jetzt in die digitale Wirtschaft investieren?

Die digitale Wirtschaft steht noch am Anfang, und es entstehen immer mehr neue Geschäftsfelder. Zu ihnen zählt auch die „Sharing Economy“. Sie besteht aus erfolgreichen Unternehmen, die zurzeit noch nicht börsennotiert sind, aber wahrscheinlich in den nächsten Jahren an die Börse gehen. Dadurch wachsen das Anlageuniversum und die Diversifikationsmöglichkeiten.

1 Citi GPS: Citi GPS, Technology at Work v3.0, August 2017.
2 Euromonitor International, Citibank, Technology at Work v3.0, August 2017.
3 Deloitte, 2018 Holiday Survey: Retail in Transition, November 2018.
4 S&P via Forbes, April 2015.

Diese Seite ist nur zu Informationszwecken gedacht. Sie stellt kein Angebot von AXA Investment Managers oder seinen verbundenen Unternehmen für den Kauf oder Verkauf von Anlagen, Produkten und Dienstleistungen dar und ist nicht als Aufforderung oder als Anlage-, Rechts- oder Steuerberatung aufzufassen. Die hier beschriebenen Strategien und/oder Produkte sind unter Umständen nicht in allen Rechtsordnungen verfügbar und/oder bestimmten Arten von Anlegern vorenthalten. Meinungen, Schätzungen und Prognosen auf dieser Seite sind subjektiv und können sich jederzeit ändern. Es wird keine Garantie, Gewährleistung oder Zusicherung im Hinblick auf die Richtigkeit oder Vollständigkeit dieser Materialien abgegeben. Die Leser müssen selbst entscheiden, inwieweit sie sich auf Informationen in diesen Materialien verlassen. Diese Materialien enthalten keine ausreichenden Informationen, um als Grundlage für eine Anlageentscheidung herangezogen zu werden. Weitere wichtige rechtliche Hinweise sowie die Angaben zum Vertreter und zur Zahlstelle des jeweiligen Fonds finden Sie unter Rechtliche Hinweise.